The American Society of Cinematographers

Loyalty • Progress • Artistry

10 Cinematographers Vie for Annual ASC Television Honors

November 30, 2007

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has announced nominees in the two television categories of the 22nd Annual Outstanding Achievement Awards competition. The awards gala will be held here on January 26 at the Hollywood and Highland Grand Ballroom.

Nominees vying for top honors in the TV movie/miniseries/pilot category are Oliver Bokelberg for the Raines pilot (NBC); David Franco for the telefilm Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee (HBO); Ben Nott, ACS for the miniseries The Company (TNT); René Ohashi, ASC, CSC for the telefilm Jesse Stone: Sea Change (CBS); and Michael Weaver for the Pushing Daisies pilot (ABC).

Nominees in the episodic television category were chosen for one episode of a regular series. They are James L. Carter, ASC for “Ending Happy”/CSI: Crime Scene Investigation (CBS); Eagle Egilsson for “Inside Out”/CSI: Miami (CBS); Russell Lee Fine for “All of Us Are in the Gutter”/The Black Donnellys (NBC); John Fleckenstein for “Welcome to the Club”/Women’s Murder Club (ABC); and Glen Winter, CSC for “Noir”/Smallville (CW).

“Our members who judged this competition were impressed by the extraordinary cinematography they saw,” says ASC President Daryn Okada. “Two of these talented individuals will claim top honors, but they are all winners. All of the nominees have earned the admiration of their peers. This is a celebration of an art form.”

Ohashi previously earned an ASC Outstanding Achievement Award in the television movie competition for The Crossing in 2001, and added another nomination in 2002 for Don Giovanni Unmasked. Franco has earned three previous ASC nominations (Million Dollar Babies, Falling for You, Intensity), and Carter (Michael Hayes), Egilsson (CSI: Miami), Nott (Salem’s Lot) and Winter (Smallville) were each nominated once before. Bokelberg, Fine, Fleckenstein and Weaver are first-time nominees.

“One of our goals is to foster a broader appreciation for the unique role that cinematographers play in the collaborative art of visual storytelling,” says Russ Alsobrook, ASC who chairs the organization’s Awards Committee. “We hope that this annual celebration inspires other talented cinematographers to pursue their dreams.”