The American Society of Cinematographers

Loyalty • Progress • Artistry

American Society of Cinematographers to Host Annual Open House

January 7, 2008
The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) will host their annual open house on Saturday, January 19, from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. at the ASC Clubhouse. The event, which is one week prior to the 22nd Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards gala, is a gathering of some the world’s most talented filmmakers.

“This public affair provides current and future filmmakers, fans and journalists with the perfect opportunity to meet and speak with an extraordinarily talented group of filmmakers,” says ASC President Daryn Okada.

Participants in the open house are expected to include ASC Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Stephen H. Burum, ASC (Hoffa, The Untouchables); ASC Career Achievement in Television Award recipient George Spiro Dibie, ASC (Mr. Belvedre, Growing Pains); and ASC Presidents Award recipient Richard Edlund, ASC (Star Wars, The Empire Strikes Back).

Additionally, the ASC Outstanding Achievement Award nominees in the feature film, episodic television and television movie/mini/pilot categories are also anticipated to attend.

The nominees in the two television categories are Oliver Bokelberg (Raines pilot); David Franco (Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee); Ben Nott, ACS (The Company); Rene Ohashi, ASC, CSC (Jesse Stone: Sea Change); Michael Weaver (Pushing Daisies); James L. Carter, ASC (CSI: Crime Scene Investigation); Eagle Egilsson (CSI: Miami); Russell Lee Fine (The Black Donnellys); John Fleckenstein (Women’s Murder Club); and Glen Winter, CSC (Smallville). Feature film nominees are yet to be announced.

The ASC Clubhouse is located at 1782 North Orange Drive in Hollywood. For more information about the open house, please contact (323) 969-4333.

 (Note: participation based on availability)