The American Society of Cinematographers

Loyalty • Progress • Artistry

Deakins wins ACS acclaim for Jesse James

June 5, 2008
SYDNEY - Sunday 1 June 2008

British cinematographer Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC is the Australian Cinematographers Society's 2008 winner of the International Award for Cinematography for his work on the Hollywood feature The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford.

The award was presented this Saturday (May 31) in front of 550 of Australian cinematography's elite at the ACS' 50th Anniversary and 2008 National Awards night in Circular Quay, Sydney. The evening was hosted by The Chaser's Chris Taylor and featured Academy award winner Dean Semler AM, ACS, ASC as Guest of Honor.

The award was accepted by Nigel Walters BSC, Vice President of the British Society of Cinematographers, who is in Sydney for the ACS 50 celebrations.

Deakins has seven Oscar nominations for cinematography to his credit, as well as awards from the American (ASC) and British (BSC) societies of cinematography.

His credits include cinematography on more than 40 film and television features including Oscar-nominated The Shawshank Redemption, Fargo and Kundun. Deakins collaborative work with Ethan and Joel Coen has also led to outstanding cinematography credits on Oh Brother where Art Thou, The Big Lebowski and The Man who Wasn't There. Russell Crowe's A Beautiful Mind is another Hollywood success with the Deakins imprimatur upon it.

Shawshank earned the British cinematographer the ASC's Outstanding Achievement Award in 1994 and in 2008 he became the first cinematographer to receive dual ASC nominations for his works, The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford and No Country for Old Men, which also earned a British BAFTA award for Best Cinematography.

The ACS International Award for Cinematography is an acknowledgement by Australian society members of excellence in cinematography. The award is open to any feature film cinematographer, of any nationality, working on the international stage.

Previous award winners include Emmanuel Lubezki, AMC, ASC in 2007 for Children of Men and Australia's Dion Beebe, ACS, ASC for Memoirs of a Geisha in 2006.

Deakins award was one of many highlights during a week of 50th anniversary celebrations for the Australian Cinematographers Society. The week has included Master Classes, workshops and industry panels by Mad Max, Dances with Wolves and Apocalypto cinematographer Dean Semler, as well Lord of The Rings maestro Andrew Lesnie, Babe and Happy Feet producer George Miller and more than 50 cinematographers, producers and image creation experts from the world of film and television.