The American Society of Cinematographers

Loyalty • Progress • Artistry

23rd Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards Slated for February 15

August 14, 2008
The 23rd Annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography will be held on February 15, 2009, at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel.

Awards will be presented for a feature film released in 2008, as well as for two television categories: an episode of a regular series, and a television movie/miniseries/pilot.

ASC will also present career achievement awards to several cinematographers whose bodies of work have earned the respect of their peers. Additionally, ASC will honor individuals who have made exceptional contributions to advancing the art of visual storytelling, and recognize one or more promising student filmmakers.

“Our members established this annual celebration in 1986 for the purpose of recognizing and inspiring the pursuit of excellence in the art and craft of cinematography,” says ASC President Daryn Okada.

ASC was founded in 1919 by 15 individuals who were pioneers in the invention of a new art form. Their primary purpose was to provide a forum for discussing ideas for advancing the art of cinematography. Membership was by invitation based on the individual’s body of narrative work. There are currently some 300 members today with roots in many different countries, and about 150 associate members who work in ancillary sectors of the industry that support the art and craft of cinematography.