The American Society of Cinematographers

Loyalty • Progress • Artistry

ASC Calls for TV Entries in Annual Awards Competition

Awards Celebration Set for February 15, 2009

September 3, 2008

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has issued a call for entries in the episodic and movie/miniseries/pilot television categories of the Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards competition. The deadline for submissions is noon on December 1. The finalists will be named in mid-December, and winners will be announced during the awards celebration here at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel on February 15, 2009.

“The annual ASC Awards is an opportunity for our members and the filmmaking community to honor the artistic achievements of our peers,” says ASC President Daryn Okada. “This event continues to inspire today’s cinematographers as well as the next generation of filmmakers to pursue their artistic passion for visual storytelling.”
Cinematographers can submit programs which have a U.S. premiere broadcast date of November 1, 2007, through November 30, 2008. There are generally five nominees in each category, who are chosen by peer groups of ASC members.

“Television cinematography is a demanding and artful endeavor,” says Michael Goi, ASC, chairman of the organization’s Awards Committee. “Some of the world’s most talented cinematographers create amazing images on a weekly basis in the field of television. This recognition honors those who consistently raise the bar with their innovative work in a constantly evolving medium.”
Goi observes that the rapid evolution of high-definition broadcast channels is providing a larger, more compelling canvas for visual storytelling on television.

The ASC was chartered in January 1919. There are currently some 300 active members of ASC who have national roots in some 20 countries. There are also 150 associate members from sectors of the industry that support the art and craft of filmmaking. Membership and associate membership is by invitation based on contributions that individuals have made to advance the art of visual storytelling.