The American Society of Cinematographers

Loyalty • Progress • Artistry

Emerging Cinematographers Awards

September 8, 2008

Nurturing fresh and exciting talent that is emerging within the International Cinematographers Guild has always been important to President Steven Poster. The ICG unveiled their seven honorees whose short films will be showcased at this year’s Annual Cinematographer Awards on September 21.

The ICG is one of the few organizations who honor new talent, which as a Guild, sets them apart in a positive way. According to Poster, it is crucial that the leaders of today encourage and support the rising members so that they can become the leaders of tomorrow

"Every year ICG Local 600 has the privilege to honor the best of the new. We get to demonstrate the talents of seven exciting Cinematographers. We hope this will be the first time of many that you will see these Artists on the screen," said President Steven Poster ASC.

The 2008 honorees were selected from sixty short films submitted by members of ICG, who are not yet rated as DPs, and judged by a panel of cinematographers.  This year’s films and honorees are: Spring Cleaning, Layton Blaylock; The 17th Man, Josh Ellis; Jesus Cooks Me Breakfast, Rachael Levine; Demption, Gerry O'Malley; Noisemaker, Michael Svitak; Para-Normal, Aaron Medick;  Singularity, Eduardo Mayen.

The three runners- ups are: Lola, Suad Kutlug; Cruel Logic, James O'Keeffe; Love, Mark Williams

The Emerging Cinematographer Awards will be held on Sunday, September 21, 2008 at the Directors Guild of America. The afternoon begins at 5:00 p.m. with the Awards presentations and Screening program, followed immediately by a cocktail reception. For further information please visit