The American Society of Cinematographers

Loyalty • Progress • Artistry

3rd Annual HPA Awards

October 16, 2008

The HPA Awards returns to the Skirball Cultrual Center in Los Angeles on November 6th for its third year.  The HPA Awards  recognize the outstanding contributions of post production professionals working behind the scenes in a number of categories, including color grading, audio, visual effects composition and editorial for television, feature films, and spots. In addition to the Engineering Excellence Awards, three additional special awards will be given during the HPA.  Elizabeth Daley, Dean of the University of Southern California School of Cinematic Arts, will receive the first Charles S. Swartz Award for Outstanding Contribution to Post Production. Ron Burdett, longtime post production leader, will receive the HPA Lifetime Achievement Award and the first ever HPA Innovation Award recognizing groundbreaking thought and process in post production.

The ASC’s own Daryn Okada, ASC, will  present the awards in the color grading category.  

Tickets for the gala event are on sale at and complete information is available online or by calling the HPA at 213.614.0860.