The American Society of Cinematographers

Loyalty • Progress • Artistry

ASC Names Student Cinematography Winners

February 11, 2010
The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has named recipients of the Richard Moore Heritage Award for outstanding achievement in student filmmaking. Benjamin Bakshi from the American Film Institute (AFI) won the Graduate category, and Garrett Shannon from Loyola Marymount University won the Undergraduate competition. They will be feted here during the 24thAnnual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards celebration on February 27, at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel.
"Both of these talented young filmmakers earned top honors in an extraordinarily competitive environment," says ASC President Michael Goi. "This award was designed to encourage talented student filmmakers to follow their dreams and pursue careers as cinematographers."
Honorable mentions were earned by graduate students Jeff Powers (AFI) and Jay Visit (University of Southern California). Undergraduates Boa Simon (Chapman University) and co-cinematographers Ryan Carmody and Masaki Imai (California State University-Northridge) were also recognized.
The ASC Heritage Award is rededicated annually in memory of an individual who advanced the art and craft of cinematography. Richard Moore, ASC was a talented cinematographer (Annie, The Life and Times of Judge Roy Bean, Sometimes a Great Notion, The Reivers) who also co-founded Panavision, and was responsible for significant advances in filmmaking technology.
"Richard Moore was a generous human being who always had time for students and other young filmmakers," says Isidore Mankofsky, ASC, chairman of the Education Committee. "His passion for the art and craft of telling stories with moving images lives on in many ways."
The 24thAnnual ASC Awards will be preceded by an open house with the honorees and nominees at Mole Richardson (925 North La Brea Ave., Hollywood) on February 20, beginning at 10 a.m.